Managua is the capital city of Nicaragua as well as the department and municipality  by the same name. It is the largest city in Nicaragua in terms of population and geographic size. Located on the southwestern shore of Lake Managua, the city was declared the national capital in 1852. Prior to its inception as the capital city, the title had alternated between the cities of León and Granada. The city has a population of roughly 1,800,000, composed predominantly of mestizos and whites. Managua is the second most populous city in Central America after Guatemala City.

In Managua there are four leading LGBT (gay) groups. Together they make up central alliance is the Strategic Group for Sexual Diversity Rights (GEDDS): -Sexual Diversity Initiative for Human Rights (IDSDH); -Grupo Safo (Lesbian group); -Centre for International Studies (CEI); -Nicaraguan Association of Transsexuals (ANIT)

Read the story