South Africa has three capital cities: Cape Town, the largest of the three, is the legislative capital; Pretoria is the administrative capital; and Bloemfontein is the judicial capital. Johannesburg is the unofficial financial capital of the country.

The discovery of diamonds and later gold in 1886 near the city turned it into a massive boom town and later triggered the conflict known as the 3-year Anglo-Boer War, as the Boers and the British fought for the control of the South African mineral wealth.

Today Joburg is still the powerhouse of RSA—for the middle and upper classes. The majority of black citizens suffer high unemployment, insecurity and still wait for indoor plumbing.

Read the story about Gay South Africa